Sustainable Solutions for Energy Providers

Icon, which shows a increasing line

The five trends in the energy sector, namely digitalization, decarbonization, decentralization, demographic change and diversification of conventional business models, are transforming this sector in German-speaking countries and necessitating strategic repositioning and adjustments to established business models. On an international level, the increased involvement of private investors and integration of renewable energy plants are also changing the market design and the perception of market players’ roles.

In the course of our consulting projects, we help many companies in the energy sector to exploit their potential, from tailoring development of their corporate strategy through to assisting them in implementing their strategy. We work in partnership with our clients to achieve these goals, and our clients are always the focus of our efforts. Ours is not a “one size fits all” approach, rather we seek out the best bespoke solution in each individual case.

Our main focal areas in the field of energy sector consulting are as follows:

  • Sale of Energy and Services

    The sale of power and gas is coming under increasing pressure from changes to customer requirements, intense competition (including the emergence of new players) and progressive digitalization.

    Based on our extensive experience in sales strategies and detailed know-how in procurement and sales processes, we assist you in further optimizing your processes, digitalizing customer access, ensuring reasonable risk management in energy procurement, and raising your customers’ loyalty. In this respect, selling new services is only one possibility of many. One answer to the growing complexity could be to form new partnerships.

    With our knowledge of sales service providers, we can help you to identify exactly the right partners for you and are happy to provide support through to contract negotiation. We also offer these services in both the German and the Swiss market.

  • Future-Proof Generation Portfolio

    The constantly changing economic and regulatory conditions as well as increased integration of renewable energies into the energy mix greatly affect the profitability of individual power generation facilities and portfolios. Diversifying the power generation portfolio helps to alleviate offtake and price risks.

    Together with our clients, we develop investment and asset strategies in keeping with the corporate strategy and assess these according to risk factors as well as their input towards sustainably securing contribution margins.

  • Operationalization of Strategic Projects

    Increased complexity in the energy sector creates the need for a broad range of expertise and ties up valuable capacities in managing and implementing strategic projects. We know our way around the energy sector and the market processes, are up to date on regulatory requirements and changes, are used to working in interdisciplinary teams, and have extensive experience in managing complex projects including those employing an agile approach.

    With this broad project management and communications expertise, we assist you in implementing your projects within time and budget frameworks and coordinate the various components of a solution between different disciplines and departments (IT, business, financial controlling, etc.).

  • Decarbonization of Heating

    The “heat transition”, i.e. the energy transition with respect to heat supply, is still in its infancy, no doubt down in part to the individual grid structures, grid topologies and generation options, which often require solutions specific to individual urban quarters.

    Decarbonization guidelines set out by the sector targets in the German government’s Climate Action Plan will lead to significant changes. The timely development of “green” heating strategies will ensure that your company remains competitive. We assist you in developing local “green” heating strategies and in implementing these – from designing district heating, group heating and urban quarter solutions, to exploiting flexibilities with storage and energy integration technologies, through to carrying out technical implementation.

    Together with you, we develop suitable heat pricing models for your supply solutions to ensure that contribution margins continue to be generated.

  • Scenario Analysis of Gas Demand

    Natural gas now covers around 24% of ultimate energy demand, with this figure rising to 45% in the heating sector. This success story is being jeopardized by climate protection policy. It is foreseeable that adjustments to business models and corresponding transformation paths will need to be developed for existing gas infrastructure – from transmission and storage through to final distribution.

    To acquire the best possible understanding of how your future contribution margins will develop, we examine the gas demands and gas revenues for individual consumer types in jointly defined scenarios. We use the result as the basis for checking your target network planning and maintenance strategy. Together with you, we develop strategic measures to limit revenue risks in relation to gas grid operation and come up with ideas for new business segments. Alternative grid concepts may be a component of such solutions.


References for typical projects

  • Transaction Advice for the acquisition of a Hungarian gas-fired power plant, pre due diligence Transaction Advice for the acquisition of a Hungarian gas-fired power plant, pre due diligence

    Transaction Advice for the acquisition of a Hungarian gas-fired power plant, pre due diligence

    The client was planning to acquire shares of the Hungarian project company EMFESZ Power Plant Kft., for the construction of a gas power plant in Nyírtass in Hungary. The project had two phases. In the first phase an 820 MW gas power plant was planned and in the second phase the further expansion of the power plant. FMC developed for the client, a market analysis, market entry strategy, a risk assessment, the pre due diligence of the project and advised on the transaction.
  • Market and competition analysis and assssement of the sales success for a Swiss canton utility Market and competition analysis and assssement of the sales success for a Swiss canton utility

    Market and competition analysis and assssement of the sales success for a Swiss canton utility

    The project aim was to reinforce the sales positioning of a Swiss canton utility in Germany, by building up retail sales with the focus on B2C customers in Germany outside of its own grid territory. The services FMC provided were the undertaking of a market and competition analysis in the territory near the Swiss border, to assess the potential sales success and review economic performance in a business case exercise. As a result, FMC produced a simulation model that takes into consideration the impacts of strategic marketing decisions and cost components as well as finding application for reviewing and verifying other tasks in sales and sales services.
  • SW Winterthur: Reorientation in the areas trade, procurement and sales SW Winterthur: Reorientation in the areas trade, procurement and sales

    SW Winterthur: Reorientation in the areas trade, procurement and sales

    The project aim was the restructuring of the trading, procurement and marketing departments of a large municipal utility to take account the development of the Swiss power market. The services FMC provided were reworking the existing procurement strategy, transfer of responsibility for procurement in the interim management, setting up and implementing a tool for procurement and risk oversight, assisting in the development of internal and external procedures for drawing up electricity schedules (also in cooperation with service providers) and upgrading forecasting quality, contract negotiations for managing a sub-balancing group, setting up procedures for schedule transmission and data communication with distribution system operators and finally flanking support for configuring and implementing a portfolio management and forecasting system.
  • EPH: Technical evaluation of thermal power plants, due diligence EPH: Technical evaluation of thermal power plants, due diligence

    EPH: Technical evaluation of thermal power plants, due diligence

    FMC supported a strategic investor in the technical evaluation of thermal power plants in Italy (coal and gas fired). Based on an inventory evaluation, the future investment needs were assessed along with the estimated operating costs. The scope further included the analysis of environmental risks and issues with the permit. As a result the findings of the study were summarized in a due diligence report.
  • Preparation of a technical and environmental due diligence for an Utility Preparation of a technical and environmental due diligence for an Utility

    Preparation of a technical and environmental due diligence for an Utility

    A utility intended to divest up to 25% of its power generation and distribution assets. The project aim of this transaction was to generate capital inflow, to increase the operational know how of the company and improve the management capabilities. FMC supported the process by carrying out a technical and environmental due diligence of the power generation and distribution assets. Furthermore, together with a group of advisors, the process was supported with regard to the development of a favorable legal and regulatory environment for the transaction and any other activities related to the transaction process.
  • Saudi Arabia, Electricity & Co-Generation Regulatory Authority: Development of key performance indicators for the evaluation of existing assets Saudi Arabia, Electricity & Co-Generation Regulatory Authority: Development of key performance indicators for the evaluation of existing assets

    Saudi Arabia, Electricity & Co-Generation Regulatory Authority: Development of key performance indicators for the evaluation of existing assets

    The project aim was the evaluation of the existing facilities of a Regulatory Authority in Middle East with regard to their performance and availability. The services FMC provided were the identification of the appropriate key performance figures and compare these with the international standards used in similar industries so that improvement of the facilities could be achieved.

Zukunftssichere energiewirtschaftliche Lösungen

Icon, das eine aufsteigende Linie zeigt

Die fünf Trends der Energiewirtschaft Digitalisierung, Dekarbonisierung, Dezentralisierung, Demographischer Wandel und Diversifizierung der herkömmlichen Geschäftsmodelle verändern die Energiewirtschaft im deutschsprachigen Raum und erfordern neue strategische Positionierungen und Anpassungen etablierter Geschäftsmodelle. Auch international verändert das stärkere Engagement privater Investoren sowie die Einbindung erneuerbarer Erzeugungsanlagen Marktdesign und Rollenverständnis der Akteure.

In Beratungsprojekten unterstützen wir zahlreiche Unternehmen der Energiebranche bei der Ausschöpfung Ihrer Potenziale von einer passgenauen Weiterentwicklung Ihrer Unternehmensstrategie bis zur Begleitung in der Strategieumsetzung. Dabei setzen wir auf eine partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit. Unsere Kunden stehen im Fokus.
Kein „one size fits all“-Ansatz, sondern die individuell beste Lösung.

Unsere Schwerpunkte im Beratungsfeld Energiewirtschaft sind:

  • Vertrieb von Energie- und Dienstleistungen

    Wandel der Kundenanforderungen, intensiver Wettbewerb – auch mit neuen Playern – und die fortschreitende Digitalisierung setzen den Strom- und Gasvertrieb unter Druck.

    Auf Basis unserer umfangreichen Erfahrung mit Vertriebsstrategien und detaillierter Kenntnis der Beschaffungs- und Vertriebsprozesse unterstützen wir Sie, Ihre Prozesse weiter zu optimieren, den Kundenzugang zu digitalisieren, das Risikomanagement bei der Energiebeschaffung angemessen auszugestalten und die Bindung Ihrer Kunden zu steigern. Der Vertrieb neuer Dienstleistungen ist dabei nur eine Möglichkeit von vielen. Eine Antwort auf die wachsende Komplexität können auch neue Partnerschaften sein.

    Mit unserem Überblick über Vertriebsdienstleister begleiten wir Sie bei der Identifikation genau Ihrer Partner, gern bis zur Vertragsverhandlung. Und das sowohl im deutschen wie auch im Schweizer Markt.

  • Zukunftsfähiges Erzeugungsportfolio

    Die sich ständig wandelnden wirtschaftlichen und regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen sowie die stärkere Einbindung von erneuerbaren Energien in das Energieerzeugungssystem haben einen starken Einfluss auf die Wirtschaftlichkeit von einzelnen Erzeugungsanlagen und -portfolios. Eine Diversifizierung des Erzeugungsportfolios trägt dazu bei, Abnahme- und Preisrisiken zu reduzieren.

    Mit unseren Kunden entwickeln wir Investitions- und Anlagenstrategien, die im Einklang mit der Unternehmensstrategie sind und beurteilen diese unter Risikogesichtspunkten sowie nach ihrem Beitrag zur nachhaltigen Sicherung von Deckungsbeiträgen.

  • Operationalisierung strategischer Projekte

    Die gesteigerte Komplexität in der Energiewirtschaft erfordert vielfältige Kompetenzen und bindet wertvolle Kapazitäten bei der Leitung und Umsetzung von strategischen Projekten. Wir kennen uns aus in der Energiewirtschaft und den Marktprozessen, sind auf dem Laufenden bezüglich regulatorischer Anforderungen und Änderungen, sind gewohnt in interdisziplinären Teams zu arbeiten und haben umfangreiche Erfahrung in der Leitung komplexer – auch agil aufgesetzter – Projekte

    Mit dieser breiten Projektmanagement- und Kommunikationskompetenz unterstützen wir Sie bei der Umsetzung Ihrer Projekte in Zeit und Budgetrahmen und koordinieren die Lösungsbausteine zwischen unterschiedlichen Disziplinen und Bereichen (IT, Business, Controlling etc.).

  • Dekarbonisierung Wärme

    Die Wärmewende steht noch am Anfang, sicher auch den jeweils individuellen Nutzungsstrukturen, Netztopologien und Erzeugungsoptionen geschuldet, die oft quartierspezifische Lösungen fordern.

    Die Dekarbonisierungsvorgaben durch die Sektorziele im Klimaschutzplan der Bundesregierung werden zu bedeutenden Veränderungen führen. Eine rechtzeitige Entwicklung von „grünen“ Wärmestrategien sichert die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit Ihres Unternehmens. Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Entwicklung von lokalen „grünen“ Wärmestrategien und deren Umsetzung: bei der Konzeption von Fern-, Nahwärme und Quartierslösungen, bei der Erschließung von Flexibilitäten durch Speicher- und Sektorkopplungstechnologien bis hin zur technischen Umsetzung. Gemeinsam mit Ihnen entwickeln wir angemessene Wärme-Pricing-Modelle, für Ihre Versorgungslösungen um weiterhin Deckungsbeiträge zu generieren.

  • Zukunftsfähiger Gasnetzbetrieb

    Erdgas deckt heute rd. 24% des Endenergiebedarfs, im Wärmesektor sogar 45%. Diese Erfolgsstory wird durch die Klimaschutzpolitik in Frage gestellt. Es ist absehbar, dass für die bestehende Gasinfrastruktur – von Transport und Speicherung bis zur Endverteilung – Anpassungen der Geschäftsmodelle und entsprechende Transformationspfade entwickelt werden müssen.

    Für ein möglichst genaues Verständnis der Entwicklung Ihrer künftigen Deckungsbeträge untersuchen wir die Gasbedarfe und die Gaserlöse für einzelne Verbrauchertypen in gemeinsam abgestimmten Szenarien. Das Ergebnis nutzen wir als Grundlage für die Überprüfung Ihrer Zielnetzplanung und Instandhaltungsstrategie. Gemeinsam mit Ihnen entwickeln wir strategische Maßnahmen zur Eingrenzung der Erlösrisiken aus dem Gasnetzbetrieb und Ideen für neue Geschäftsfelder. Alternative Netzkonzepte können dabei ein Lösungsbaustein sein.

     


Exemplarische Referenzen

  • Markt- und Wettbewerbsanalyse und Einschätzung des Vertriebserfolgs für ein Schweizer Kantonswerk Markt- und Wettbewerbsanalyse und Einschätzung des Vertriebserfolgs für ein Schweizer Kantonswerk

    Markt- und Wettbewerbsanalyse und Einschätzung des Vertriebserfolgs für ein Schweizer Kantonswerk

    Ein Schweizer Kantonswerk betreibt als spartenübergreifender Energieversorger ein Stromverteilnetz auf Schweizer und Deutschem Staatsgebiet und beliefert innerhalb seines Netzgebietes auch Kunden in Deutschland. FMC wurde beauftragt, durch eine Markt- und Wettbewerbsanalyse im schweiznahen Raum den potenziellen Vertriebserfolg einzuschätzen und in einem Businesscase dessen Wirtschaftlichkeit zu prüfen.

    Dazu wurden die Auswirkungen strategischer Marketingentscheidungen untersucht und detaillierte Kostenbestandteile in einem Simulationsmodell abgebildet. Zu erwartende Auswirkung veränderter strategischer Parameter und Kostenstrukturen auf die Entwicklung von Kundengewinnung und -bestand sowie daraus resultierende Auswirkung auf den erwarteten Geschäftserfolg waren ablesbar, weshalb das Modell nun zur Prüfung und Begründung weiterer Aufgabenstellungen in Vertrieb und Vertriebsdienstleistungen eingesetzt wurde.
  • Stadtwerk Winterthur: Neuaufstellung in den Bereichen Handel, Beschaffung und Vertrieb Stadtwerk Winterthur: Neuaufstellung in den Bereichen Handel, Beschaffung und Vertrieb

    Stadtwerk Winterthur: Neuaufstellung in den Bereichen Handel, Beschaffung und Vertrieb

    Dieses Projekt beinhaltete die Neuaufstellung der Bereiche Handel, Beschaffung und Vertrieb eines großen Stadtwerks im Zuge der Entwicklung des Schweizer Strommarktes. Zu den Leistungen der FMC gehörten die Überarbeitung der bestehenden Beschaffungsstrategie, die Übernahme der Beschaffungsverantwortung im Interimsmanagement sowie der Aufbau und die Implementierung eines Werkzeugs zum Beschaffungs- und Risikocontrolling. Zusätzlich wurde Unterstützung bei der Entwicklung der internen und externen Prozesse der Fahrplanerstellung und der Verbesserung der Prognosegüte geleistet. Auch der Prozessaufbau zur Fahrplanübermittlung und Datenkommunikation mit Verteilnetzbetreibern wurde begleitet und ein Portfoliomanagement- und Prognosesystems eingeführt.
  • EPH: Technische Bewertung von thermischen Kraftwerken, Due Diligence EPH: Technische Bewertung von thermischen Kraftwerken, Due Diligence

    EPH: Technische Bewertung von thermischen Kraftwerken, Due Diligence

    FMC unterstützte einen strategischen Investor bei der technischen Bewertung von thermischen Kraftwerken in Italien (Kohle und Gas befeuert). Auf Basis einer Bestandsbewertung wurden insbesondere der künftige Investitionsbedarf bewertet sowie die Betriebskosten abgeschätzt. Der Leistungsumfang umfasste weiterhin die Analyse von Umweltrisiken und Fragen der Genehmigung. Die Ergebnisse der Untersuchung wurden in einem Due Diligence Bericht zusammengefasst.
  • Durchführung einer technischen und umweltbezogenen Due Diligence für Versorgungsunternehmen Durchführung einer technischen und umweltbezogenen Due Diligence für Versorgungsunternehmen

    Durchführung einer technischen und umweltbezogenen Due Diligence für Versorgungsunternehmen

    Ein Saudi-Arabisches Versorgungsunternehmen beabsichtigte die Veräußerung von bis zu 25 % seiner Stromerzeugungs- und Verteilungsanlagen. Durch diese Transaktion sollten ein Kapitalzufluss generiert, das betriebliche Know-how des Unternehmens vergrößert und die Managementfähigkeiten verbessert werden. Zur Begleitung dieses Prozesses führte FMC eine technische und Umwelt-Due Diligence der Stromerzeugungs- und Verteilungsanlagen durch. Darüber hinaus wurde dieser Prozess zusammen mit einer Gruppe von Beratern auch hinsichtlich der Gestaltung eines günstigen gesetzlichen und ordnungspolitischen Umfeldes für den Geschäftsabschluss und damit einhergehender Aktivitäten unterstützt.
  • Saudi Arabien, Electricity & Co-Generation Regulatory Authority : Ermittlung von Leistungskennzahlen für die Bewertung bestehender Anlagen Saudi Arabien, Electricity & Co-Generation Regulatory Authority : Ermittlung von Leistungskennzahlen für die Bewertung bestehender Anlagen

    Saudi Arabien, Electricity & Co-Generation Regulatory Authority : Ermittlung von Leistungskennzahlen für die Bewertung bestehender Anlagen

    Die Saudi-Arabische Strom-Regulierungsbehörde möchte ihre bestehenden Anlagen hinsichtlich ihrer Leistung und Verfügbarkeit überprüfen lassen. Die Regulierungsbehörde erhoffte sich dadurch eine Leistungsoptimierung ihrer Anlagen. Hierfür sollte FMC geeignete Leistungskennzahlen ermitteln und mit internationalen Standards ähnlicher Industrien vergleichen.
  • Kenya, Ministry of Energy & Petroleum: Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen kostendeckenden Elektrifizierungsstrategie Kenya, Ministry of Energy & Petroleum: Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen kostendeckenden Elektrifizierungsstrategie

    Kenya, Ministry of Energy & Petroleum: Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen kostendeckenden Elektrifizierungsstrategie

    Um eine nachhaltige und kostendeckende Elektrifizierungsstrategie in Kenia zu entwickeln, wurde FMC beauftragt, die bestehenden Stromanschlussrichtlinien und Regularien kritisch zu überprüfen und neue Richtlinien zu entwickeln. Die Nationale Stromgesellschaft schätzte die Kosten für einen neuen Anschluss auf über das Doppelte der Standard-Gebühr. Die aktuellen Anschlusskosten wurden als zu kostspielig befunden und belasteten die finanzielle Situation der Stromgesellschaft. FMC hat in diesem Zusammenhang neue Regularien entwickelt und dabei insbesondere die vorgeschlagenen Anschlussgebühren der Stromgesellschaft geprüft.