Experience and know-how for waste and environmental management needs

Over many decades, Fichtner as engineering consultant has successfully helped shape the development of waste management in Germany. Today we assist private and public institutions in developing technical concepts and preparing feasibility studies. Through FMC, waste and environmental services cover a broad range: They include, for example, strategic and organizational development of waste management operations, assistance during M&A processes, while also conducting investment and market analyses.

  • Strategic orientation

    In cooperation with our client, we develop robust plans to meet future requirements and support in assessing needed capacities, qualifications, technologies and concepts for sustainable waste and environmental management.

  • Organizational development

    We assist large- and small-scale waste management operations in setting up new organizational structures and developing existing ones as well as in the adoption of internal systems, for example for occupational health and safety as well as for quality management.

  • Investment strategies

    Our clients profit from our many years of extensive experience with established as well as with innovative technologies. Evaluations and comparisons of technology options by our technical experts for constructing new or rehabilitating existing facilities have proven to be a robust basis for decision makers within and outside of the EU.

  • Market surveys

    From our impressive range of completed waste projects, we possess considerable knowledge across both regional and national markets, and this is reinforced by our strong contacts to key stakeholders across the sector. We draw on these assets to estimate the potential of specific technologies or waste-derived products, hence opening up new growth prospects for our clients.

  • Transaction advice

    Regarding transactions, we often act as technical consultant at the side of buyers or vendors, and prepare due diligence audits of existing plants, business development or also specific technologies. We support our institutional clients in preparing tender documents and papers, during roadshows as well as when conducting negotiations up to contract signature.


References for typical projects

  • EBRD, Moldova: Analysis of the market potential for investments in the waste sector EBRD, Moldova: Analysis of the market potential for investments in the waste sector

    EBRD, Moldova: Analysis of the market potential for investments in the waste sector

    The project aim was to provide EBRD with information on the market potential for investments in waste minimization in Moldova and to draw up a list of candidate investment projects that tackle the most urgent needs in the waste sector while co-opting private sector participants.
  • EBRD, Tajikistan: Waste management improvement EBRD, Tajikistan: Waste management improvement

    EBRD, Tajikistan: Waste management improvement

    The project aim was to improve waste management services by making investments in the waste management system and assisting in its reorganization. The services FMC provided were support to the company in improving its commercial standing, services, environmental and social performance by assisting implementation of the necessary corporate, financial and operational improvements. In addition, FMC also helped the company in drawing up a medium-term corporate development plan and assisted the city council in implementing a public service contract.
  • Simulation of costs and revenues at waste disposal plants Simulation of costs and revenues at waste disposal plants

    Simulation of costs and revenues at waste disposal plants

    When making a strategic appraisal of its plant configurations, a waste management company was confronted with the task of forecasting the long-term development of its costs and revenues. To tackle this, FMC and the client company jointly devised a comprehensive costing and simulation model and applied it for strategy formulation and identifying optimization potentials. This model contains a range of plants for thermal and/or mechanical waste treatment. The input variables are the factors that determine variable and fixed costs, specifically replacement investments, manning requirements and consumption of operating supplies as well as revenues for energy and products. This tool can be applied further by our client for tariff simulation, long-term CAPEX forecasting and taking decisions on technology selection.
  • eew Energy from Waste: Transaction advisor for the technical and environmental due diligence for thermal waste incineration plants eew Energy from Waste: Transaction advisor for the technical and environmental due diligence for thermal waste incineration plants

    eew Energy from Waste: Transaction advisor for the technical and environmental due diligence for thermal waste incineration plants

    For an international consortium consisting of one of the largest German energy producer and a Chinese state-owned holding company, FMC is a consultant for the technical and environmental due diligence on the acquisition of shares of the Energy from Waste (EEW) stake. The target portfolio includes 18 waste incineration plants in Germany, the Netherlands and Luxembourg. The consultancy services for the transaction involved the evaluation of power plant systems, the analysis of environmental issues, risk assessments and their quantification as well as the formulation of an OPEX / CAPEX model as a contribution for the financial model of the investor. FMC used as in other M & A projects in this buyer counselling the usual M & A instruments such as data space, Q & A sessions, expert sessions or advisor calls with the other disciplines. A Red Flag Report and a Bankable due diligence was submitted. For basics of due diligence was the evaluation of Technical and Environmental Vendor Due Diligence Reports, Financial and Legal Vendor Due Diligence reports and the analysis of the vendor model. The established by FMC OPEX / CAPEX model was integrated into the financial evaluation model of investment banking to our customers.
  • KfW, Indonesia: Preparation of solid waste management master plans for eleven Indonesian cities KfW, Indonesia: Preparation of solid waste management master plans for eleven Indonesian cities

    KfW, Indonesia: Preparation of solid waste management master plans for eleven Indonesian cities

    Solid waste management master plans were drawn up for 11 Indonesian cities by Fichtner to identify fast track waste management measures, taking into account their CDM potential. Subsequently for the selected fast track measures in seven cities, feasibility studies were conducted.
  • Egypt Airport: Environmental training for the staff of international airports in Egypt Egypt Airport: Environmental training for the staff of international airports in Egypt

    Egypt Airport: Environmental training for the staff of international airports in Egypt

    The project aim was the extensive environmental training of the staff of two international airports in Egypt. The services FMC provided was training that covered the following fields: Environmental Regulations, Solid/Hazardous Waste Management, Noise Measurement, Air Quality, Monitoring, QA/QC, etc.

Erfahrung und Know-how für Abfallbetriebe

Über viele Jahrzehnte hinweg, hat Fichtner die Entwicklung der Abfallwirtschaft in Deutschland als technischer Berater erfolgreich mitgestaltet. Heute begleiten wir die privaten und öffentlichen Unternehmen mit der Erarbeitung technischer Konzepte und Machbarkeitsstudien weltweit. Unsere Leistungen sind vielfältig: Sie beinhalten z. B. die Strategie- und Organisationsentwicklung der abfallwirtschaftlichen Betriebe, die Unterstützung bei M&A-Prozessen oder auch Durchführung von Investitions- und Marktanalysen.

  • Strategische Ausrichtung

    Wir entwickeln mit Ihnen gemeinsam fundierte Pläne hinsichtlich der zukünftigen Anforderungen und unterstützen Sie bei der Bewertung dafür erforderlicher Kapazitäten, Qualifikationen, Technologien und Konzepten.

  • Organisationsentwicklung

    Wir begleiten größere und kleinere Abfallbetriebe bei der Neuaufstellung und Weiterentwicklung organisatorischer Strukturen sowie der Einführung innerbetrieblicher Systeme wie z. B. Arbeitssicherheit und Qualitätsmanagement.

  • Investitionsstrategien

    Unsere Kunden profitieren von unserer langjährigen, umfassenden Erfahrung mit bewährten und neuen Technologien. Bewertung und Vergleich unterschiedlicher Optionen für den Neubau oder die Rehabilitierung bestehender Anlagen durch unsere Fachexperten haben sich als solide Grundlage für die Entscheidungsträger in und außerhalb der EU bewährt.

  • Marktstudien

    Durch die Vielzahl an realisierten Projekten verfügen wir über fundierte Kenntnisse der regionalen und nationalen Märkte sowie gute Kontakte zu den lokalen Stakeholdern. Diese setzen wir gerne ein, um das Potenzial bestimmter Technologien oder Produkte einzuschätzen und so unseren Kunden neue Wachstumsperspektiven zu ermöglichen.

  • Transaktionen

    Bei Transaktionen fungieren wir oft als technische Berater an der Seite der Käufer oder Verkäufer und unternehmen die Due Diligence der bestehenden Anlagen, der Geschäftsentwicklung oder auch bestimmter Technologien. Die institutionellen Kunden unterstützen wir bei der Vorbereitung von Ausschreibungsunterlagen und Verträgen, bei Road Shows sowie der Durchführung von Verhandlungen bis zum Vertragsabschluss.


Exemplarische Referenzen

  • EBRD, Moldawien: Analyse des Marktpotentials für Investments im Abfallsektor EBRD, Moldawien: Analyse des Marktpotentials für Investments im Abfallsektor

    EBRD, Moldawien: Analyse des Marktpotentials für Investments im Abfallsektor

    Übergreifendes Ziel der FMC in diesem Projekt war es, einer internationalen Entwicklungsbank Informationen bezüglich des Marktpotenzials für Investments in die Abfallreduzierung in Moldawien bereitzustellen. Ebenfalls wurde eine Liste potenzieller Investments erstellt, die dazu diente, sich mit den dringlichsten Anforderungen im Abfallbereich zu befassen, unter Einbindung von Beteiligten des Privatsektors.
  • EBRD, Tadschikistan: Verbesserung der Abfallbewirtschaftung EBRD, Tadschikistan: Verbesserung der Abfallbewirtschaftung

    EBRD, Tadschikistan: Verbesserung der Abfallbewirtschaftung

    Dieses FMC-Projekt hatte als Ziel, den Service der Abfallbewirtschaftung in Tadjikistan durch Investitionen in das Abfallwirtschaftssystem und durch Unterstützung dessen Reorganisation zu verbessern. Das Projekt bestand aus zwei Hauptteilen: Im ersten Teil des Projekts hat FMC dabei unterstützt, die finanzielle Lage, den Service und die Umwelt- und Sozialleistungen zu verbessern. Ebenfalls unterstützte FMC die Firma dabei, einen mittelfristigen Plan zur Unternehmensstrategie auszuarbeiten. Im zweiten Teil des Projekts assistierte FMC bei der Implementierung des Public Service Contract.
  • Simulation von Kosten- und Erlösen bei Abfallentsorgungsanlagen Simulation von Kosten- und Erlösen bei Abfallentsorgungsanlagen

    Simulation von Kosten- und Erlösen bei Abfallentsorgungsanlagen

    Zur strategischen Beurteilung von Anlagenkonfigurationen eines Abfallentsorgungsunternehmens stellte sich die Herausforderung, langfristige Kosten- und Erlösentwicklungen abzuschätzen. Hierzu hat FMC mit dem Kundenunternehmen ein umfangreiches Kalkulations- und Simulationsmodell entwickelt und es bei Strategieformulierung und Ermittlung von Optimierungspotentialen eingesetzt. Im Modell werden mehrere Anlagen zur thermischen und/oder mechanischen Abfallbehandlung abgebildet. Eingangsgrößen sind die Bestimmungsfaktoren für variable und fixe Kosten, insbesondere Ersatzinvestitionen, Personalbedarf und Betriebsmittelverbräuche, sowie für Energie- und Produkterlöse. Das Werkzeug kann für Tarifsimulation, langfristige Investitionsplanung oder Technologiewahlentscheidungen bei unserem Kunden weiter eingesetzt werden.
  • eew Energy from Waste: Transaktionsberater für die technische und Umwelt-Due Diligence von thermischen Abfallverwertungsanlagen eew Energy from Waste: Transaktionsberater für die technische und Umwelt-Due Diligence von thermischen Abfallverwertungsanlagen

    eew Energy from Waste: Transaktionsberater für die technische und Umwelt-Due Diligence von thermischen Abfallverwertungsanlagen

    Für ein internationales Konsortium, bestehend aus einem der größten deutschen Energieerzeuger und einer chinesischen staatseigenen Holdinggesellschaft, ist FMC als Berater für die technische und Umwelt-Due Diligence beim Erwerb von Anteilen der Energy from Waste(EEW)-Beteiligung tätig. Das Zielportfolio umfasst 18 thermische Abfallverwertungsanlagen in Deutschland, den Niederlanden und Luxemburg.

    Die Beratungsleistung für die Transaktion umfasste die Beurteilung von Kraftwerkssystemen, die Analyse von umweltrelevanten Sachverhalten, Risikoeinschätzungen und deren Quantifizierung sowie die Formulierung eines OPEX-/CAPEX-Modells als Beitrag für das Finanzmodell des Investors.

    FMC nutzte wie in anderen M&A-Projekten auch in dieser Käuferberatung das übliche M&A-Instrumentarium wie Datenraum, Q&A Sessions, Expert Sessions oder Advisor Calls mit den übrigen Fachdisziplinen. Es wurde ein Red Flag Report und ein Bankable Due Diligence Report vorgelegt. Zu den Grundlagen der Due Diligence gehörte die Auswertung von Technical and Environmental Vendor Due Diligence Reports, Financial und Legal Vendor Due Diligence Reports sowie die Analyse des Vendor Model. Das von FMC aufgestellte OPEX-/CAPEX-Modell wurde in das finanzielle Bewertungsmodell der Investmentbank unseres Kunden integriert.
  • KfW, Indonesien: Erstellung von Abfallwirtschaftskonzepten für elf indonesische Städte KfW, Indonesien: Erstellung von Abfallwirtschaftskonzepten für elf indonesische Städte

    KfW, Indonesien: Erstellung von Abfallwirtschaftskonzepten für elf indonesische Städte

    In diesem Projekt erstellte Fichtner Abfallwirtschafskonzepte für elf indonesische Städte mit dem Ziel, die dringendsten abfallwirtschaftlichen Maßnahmen zu identifizieren (Phase I). Anschließend erstellte Fichtner Machbarkeitsstudien für die identifizierten Maßnahmen in fünf ausgewählten Städten in Phase II und für zwei weitere ausgewählte Städte in Phase III.
  • Ägyptischer Flughafen: Umwelttraining für das Personal internationaler Flughäfen in Ägypten Ägyptischer Flughafen: Umwelttraining für das Personal internationaler Flughäfen in Ägypten

    Ägyptischer Flughafen: Umwelttraining für das Personal internationaler Flughäfen in Ägypten

    Im Rahmen des „Airport Development Project“ in Cairo wurde ein umfangreiches Umwelttraining für Personal der internationalen Flughäfen in Cairo und Sharm El Sheikh durchgeführt. Unter anderem wurden mit Unterstützung der FMC die Themen in den folgenden Bereichen abgedeckt: Environmental Regulations, Solid/Hazardous Waste Management, Noise Measurement, Air Quality, Monitoring, QA/QC u.v.m.